Are you in compliance?

Don't miss out! Sign up today for our weekly newsletters and stay abreast of important GRC-related information and news.


Status message

Start your free, no obligation 5-day trial to continue exploring with full access.

‘Routine’ vote to finally approve two SEC commissioner nominees blocked

Bruce Carton | April 8, 2016

The struggle to add two commissioners to the SEC drags on, leaving SEC Chair Mary Jo White and two other SEC commissioners (Michael Piwowar and Kara Stein) to do the work of what is supposed to be a five-member commission. The most recent development in this saga came yesterday, when it was believed that nominees Lisa Fairfax and Hester Peirce would finally be approved. Nope! The WSJ reports that after a confusing voice vote, four Democrats on the Senate Banking Committee indicated that they opposed the nominees, leading Committee Chairman Richard Shelby to postpone the vote.

The surprisingly difficult task of adding two new SEC commissioners has moved forward in slow motion since mid-2015. In May 2015, SEC Commissioner Daniel Gallagher...

Read this single article for $49, or click the subscribe button below to review subscription options.

Enjoy unlimited access to thousands of articles, browse five years of digital magazines, qualify for reduced admission to events, and more.