Microsoft appointed Reid Hoffman, co-founder of LinkedIn, to its board of directors, effective immediately. He also will serve on the regulatory and public policy committee.

For the past seven years, Hoffman has been with Greylock Partners, where he is currently a partner. He co-founded LinkedIn in 2002, and, prior to that, served as an executive vice president at PayPal.

Adding Hoffman to the board increases Microsoft's board to 12 members.

In addition to Hoffman, Microsoft's board of directors consists of John Thompson, Microsoft independent chairman; William Gates, Microsoft founder and technology advisor; G. Mason Morfit, president, ValueAct Capital; Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella; Charles Noski, former vice chairman of Bank of America; Sandra Peterson, executive vice president, group worldwide chairman for Johnson & Johnson; Helmut Panke, former chairman of the board of management at BMW; Charles Scharf, former CEO of Visa; John Stanton, chairman, Trilogy Equity Partners and Trilogy International Partners; Teri List-Stoll, executive vice president and chief financial officer of Gap; and Padmasree Warrior, chief development officer and U.S. CEO for NextEV.